The Shrinking of the Solar System and Vedic Astrology


Vedic Astrology is not dependant on which planet is in or out



Pluto is out. Most people I meet these days are asking me
this 1-dollar question, “Now what does this mean to you
and astrology”. First of all, who said we included Pluto?

Pluto is out. Recently Pluto got excluded from the Solar System by the wise men in the western world who made the mistake of hastily including it in the solar system without considering everything.

So when I was in school we were unfortunately taught that Pluto was the last planet in the solar system. Most people I meet these days are asking me this 1-dollar question, “Now what does this mean to you and astrology”.

First of all, who said we included Pluto?

Vedic Astrologers of India never gave a place in your horoscope for even Uranus and Neptune, leave alone the tiny Pluto which is smaller than the Moon.

Thousands of years ago, unknown to most of the gold medalist MBAs and MBBSs, in the land of Astrology, the Indian Astronomers were far ahead of the best Astronomers of today. The ancient seers had listed 1000s of comets in Brihat Samhita along with their names, when comets were a puzzle to western Astronomers even 400 years ago and they just saw the “light at the tail” of the comets.

The formula by Johannes Kepler (1571-1630) is a duplicate of what our Astrologers knew 5000 years ago or perhaps much before. Due to the absence of proper documentation, the credit went to others who came in late but had the advantage of the print media and European domination.

In the Rig Veda there are statements such as “Oh Sun, you are the center of our worlds, you are fixedand unmoving”. Until Copernicus and Galileo people living in the west made the blunder of thinking that the Sun was going around us.

In Vedic Astrology Sun refers to our Soul, the unchanging factor in our life. A child once asked me “Uncle, are you telling the Sun is a planet?” I replied, “We never call them planets my dear child, we call them “Grahas”. So the Moon is also a Grah and neither a planet nor a satellite, according to Ancient Astrology. So in Vedic Astrology books there is no such term as Planet or Satellite.

Rahu and Ketu are also called Grahas, though they are only shadows in the solar system, which eclipse the Moon and Sun. So there is no confusion. Vedic Astrology just believes in the seven grahas (loosely referred to as Planets) and the two shadows called Rahu and Ketu.

If you see Rahu with Sun and Ketu with the Moon in any horoscope know that birth happened during a Lunar Eclipse and if you see Rahu with Sun and the Moon or Ketu with Sun and the Moon know that it is Solar Eclipse. Is that not a great thing to know from horoscope?

Grahaparam Kotayahah Mukhya Saptah meaning “We acknowledge the existence of crores of heavenly bodies but consider only seven” is linked to Karma and Astrology. How canyou know which are the seven important grahas? You already know them as the seven days of the week – SUNday, MOONday, TUESday, WEDNESday, THURSday, FRIday and SATURday.

So all over the world people are using the terms like names of the grahas in the horoscope whether they have acknowledged the influence of grahas in our lives or not.

RAHU and KETU are shadows so they decided to keep them in the shadows with no corresponding weekdays. In Vedic Astrology, RAHU co-rules Saturdays, while KETU co-rules Tuesdays.

Sun (Sunday) is the brightest and most important and therefore listed first in all panchangs even from LordRaam’s time. That is the 1st day of the week (though a holiday). Sun is the unchanging and fixed heavenly body around which we are all travelling year after year. So Sun is compared to GOD and Soul. Hence it is the 1st day so the week.

Next graha in the panchang is the Moon (Monday), as it is the second most prominent luminary in the sky.

Saturday is linked to Saturn, the farthest graha in Astrology and hence the last weekday.

My question is simple. Why are the weekdays named after such grahas? What is the origin of weekdays? Do they not correspond to grahas? If yes, whenever more planets are discovered do we increase the number of weekdays in a week? There are 12 months in a year because there are 12janma Rashi as per Vedic Astrology. Corresponding to this we also have the 12 Zodiac signs. They discovered the 13th sign ‘Ophiuchus’ but did they make it 13 months a year?

Ancient astrology called an Hour as Hora. Please note the close resemblance. A day is divided into 60 Ghatis and each Ghati is sub divided into 60 Vighatis. Currently, our clocks have a 60 minutes and 60 seconds division. One Vighati is 24 seconds, so the ancient astrologers used the 24-hour clock. What I am trying to tell is that timings and dates are all based on astrological findings of ancient India (the oldest civilization).

The planets in your horoscope are not the cause of your destiny as much as the needles of a clock are notresponsible for time. Suppose a new watch company decides to increase the number of needles in the clock, what effect will it have on time? If you break your watch, even then time does not change or cease to exist. If you change the time by simply turning the needles, does time change?

The seven grahas along with two shadow grahas are used to measure your Karmic balance brought forward into your current life.

Let Pluto get out or Mickey Mouse come in – there is no effect on Vedic Astrology because there are only the 9 grahas in your horoscope and Vedic Astrology. And thatwill remain unchanged forever.

– E. K. Dhilip Kumar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here